Get to Know CCDFI College Intern Roberto Medrano

Robert Medrano - CCDFI's 2018 Summer College Intern

Name: Roberto Medrano
School: Duke University


Q: What do you hope to learn at CCDFI?
A: At CDFI, I hope to learn how to be a self-sufficient employee in a professional setting. More specifically, I hope to learn skills, in a number of departments (loan servicing, marketing, accounting, etc.), that I can take with me into both my academic studies at Duke and into my future career.

“At CCDFI I hope to learn how to be a self-sufficient employee in a professional setting.”

Q: What department or area sounds the most interesting to you?
A: I think the underwriting department is the most interesting. I have always been intrigued with loans, and I think it would be very valuable to understand the underwriting process.

Q: How will an internship at Clearinghouse CDFI will help you in your future plans?
A: I think an internship at Clearinghouse CDFI will help me focus more on a possible career path. I can now take this experience and understand what I want in a career.

Q: Why did you choose Duke University?
A: I chose to attend Duke because of the diverse opportunities it provides. Whether academics or social life, Duke promotes a dynamic experience that fosters a sense of well-roundedness. I wanted to challenge myself in college and Duke delivers an academic experience that demands growth. Every day at school, I find myself either meeting someone new, experiencing something new, or learning something new. Duke has turned out to be the perfect fit.

Q: What is your major?
A: My intended major is Public Policy with a minor in Economics.

Q: What has been your favorite core class and why?
A: My favorite core class was my Writing 101 course. It focused on sports and inequality. I enjoyed this course so much because my professor came to every class with an unparalleled passion. This sort of passion circulates the classroom and inspires the students.

Q: What are some of your favorite elective classes and why?
A: My favorite elective classes were a lecture on AIDS and Emerging Diseases and also my seminar on Brazilian Race, Sex, and Gender. I enjoyed these classes because they introduced me into discussions and topics that I would have never thought of on my own. I felt a sense of growth in each class.

Q: Are you participating in any clubs/organizations at your campus?
A: I am currently a member of Duke Investment club and Duke Food Recovery Network. I am an employee at the David Rubenstein Library. Lastly, I am a member of Duke Sigma Nu fraternity.

Q: What surprised you most about college/campus life?
A: I was most surprised with the amount of resources that are so easily accessible on campus. From office hours to the wellness center, there is a resource to help you in any situation. From a high school perspective, I thought college would incorporate an “every man for himself” mentality.

“I needed to humble myself and take the time to work a little harder on myself.”

Q: Name one challenge you’ve faced and explain how you overcame it.
A: First semester I thought about leaving Duke. I had a very tough time adjusting to my new lifestyle. Between borderline failing grades and a hard time finding friends, I was struggling. I am generally not the most patient person, but in this instance, patience is how I overcame this. I needed to humble myself and take the time to work a little harder on myself. I could not be happier with my college experience now.

Q: What are your plans after college?
A: In all honesty, I only have a vague idea of what my plans after college will be. I know that I want a steady job in the realm of business or finance, and I know that I would like to live in an urban environment. Other than that, I am still trying to visualize the specifics of what I exactly want.

Q: What advice would you give your freshman self?
A: I would advise my freshman self to be confident in himself. Both in an academic and social aspect, I lacked confidence early on at Duke. I would advise him to step out of his comfort zone.

Q: What do you do for fun outside of work and school?
A: I love sports. I like to play basketball, beach volleyball, and tennis with my friends. I am currently trying to learn how to play golf this summer. I love to go to the beach as well.

“My greatest role model is my grandfather. As a Cuban immigrant, I am so thankful for the many sacrifices he made for my family.”

Q: Who are/have been role models for you?
A: My greatest role model is my grandfather. As a Cuban immigrant, I am so thankful for the many sacrifices he made for my family. From a young age, he has always been my greatest role model.

Q: What social issues do you care about most?
A: I care most about environmental concerns. I think it should be everyone’s responsibility to be environmentally conscious.

Q: Share something interesting or unusual about yourself.
A: I am the biggest Harry Potter nerd. I even dressed up as Harry for the movie premiers!

Q: Anything else you’d like us to know—anything at all:
A: I think that pretty much sums me up.